Friday, November 2nd, 2007

Invite list up for Quiksilver Big Wave in Memory of Eddie - Finisterre Ambassador, Carlos Burle, invitee No. 5 and one of four from outside Hawaii…

Waimea Bay Oahu, Hawaii
1 December 2007 - 28 February 2008


The organisers of The Quiksilver Big Wave Invitational, In Memory of Eddie Aikau, have officially announced the Invitees and Alternates to this year’s event. For the first time in the event’s 23-year history, the list of Invitees has been extended from 24 to 28, reflecting the growth in international big-wave riding talent.


Starting this year, the regions of Asia, South America, Africa, and Europe have each been awarded one Invitee slot for their top big-wave rider, taking the total number of Invitees to 28. (Those four Invitees are denoted by ** in the official list.)


“We are extremely pleased to announce the growth of this year’s event and to welcome elected riders from Asia, Africa, South America and Europe,” said Bob McKnight, CEO, Quiksilver, Inc. “The quest to ride the world’s biggest waves has become a truly international and influential sport, complete with an ever-growing depth of talent and the discovery of big-wave riding locations around the globe.


“Eddie Aikau was a man who loved to ride big waves and who shared his passion with many during his own travels to places like South Africa, South America, and Australia. We believe that the growth of this event, in his honor, is becoming a truer representation of how far Aikau’s life and legacy have traveled with each passing year.”


For the first time the event website,, will host a live webcast of the Opening Ceremonies on November 29th, 2007. The actual contest, if and when it goes, will also be broadcast live on the internet. The event website, which is live today, also features photos, videos and text from the event’s storied history, links to purchase limited edition merchandise and profiles of each competitor.


Scheduled to take place at the hallowed grounds of Waimea Bay, on the North Shore of Oahu, between December 1, 2007, and February 29, 2008, the event, otherwise known as “The Eddie”, requires a minimum of 20-foot surf (based on Hawaiian scale measurement, translating to 30-40 foot face waves) in order to run.


Created in 1984 (first year event ran) to honor the legendary Hawaiian waterman, Eddie Aikau, The Quiksilver Big Wave Invitational, In Memory of Eddie Aikau gathers the most skillful and dynamic big-wave surfers from around the world as polled by a comprehensive panel consisting of influential watermen, members of the surf industry, internationally recognized surfing Associations, as well as a public poll.


Past winners include Denton Miyamura, Clyde Aikau, Keone Downing, Noah Johnson, Ross Clarke-Jones, Kelly Slater and Bruce Irons. Following is a complete list of invitees and alternates for this year’s event. For further information go directly to


INVITEES: (first name alpha. order)
1. Andy Irons (Hawaii)
2. Brian Keaulana (Hawai)
3. Brock Little (Hawaii)
4. Bruce Irons (Hawaii)
5. Carlos Burle (Brazil) **
6. Clyde Aikau (Hawaii)
7. Darryl Virostko (California)
8. Greg Long (California)
9. Ibon Amatriain (Spain) **
10. Jamie O’Brien (Hawaii)
11. Jamie Sterling (Hawaii)
12. Keone Downing (Hawaii)
13. Jason Ribbink (South Africa) **
14. Kelly Slater (Florida)
15. Makua Rothman (Hawaii)
16. Mark Healey (Hawaii)
17. Michael Ho (Hawaii)
18. Noah Johnson (Hawaii)
19. Paul Paterson (Australia)
20. Peter Mel (California)
21. Ross Clarke-Jones (Australia)
22. Rusty Keaulana (Hawaii)
23. Shane Dorian (Hawaii)
24. Sunny Garcia (Hawaii)
25. Takayuki Wakita (Japan) **
26. Titus Kinimaka (Hawaii)
27. Tom Carroll (Australia)
28. Tony Ray (Australia)


1. Darrick Doerner (Hawaii)
2. Chava Greenlee (Hawaii) Aikau Pick
3. Kalani Chapman (Hawaii)
4. Pancho Sullivan (Hawaii)
5. Taylor Knox (California)
6. Reef McIntosh (Hawaii)
7. Tony Moniz (Hawaii)
8. Garrett McNamara (Hawaii)
9. Ross Williams (Hawaii)
10. Dave Wassel (Hawaii)
11. Ian Walsh (Hawaii)
12. Braden Dias (Hawaii)
13. Myles Padaca (Hawaii)
14. Anthony Tashnick (California)
15. Kala Alexander (Hawaii)
16. Keoni Watson (Hawaii)
17. Derek Ho (Hawaii)
18. Tom Curren (California)
19. Nathan Fletcher (California)
20. Danny Fuller (Hawaii)
21. Dustin Barca (Hawaii)
22. Koby Abberton (Australia)
23. Laurie Townend (Australia)
24. Manoa Drollet (Tahiti)


Mark Foo (Hawaii)
Todd Chesser (Hawaii)
Tiger Espere (Hawaii)
Jay Moriarity (California)


LOCATION: Waimea Bay, North Shore, Oahu
OPENING CEREMONY: Thursday, November 29, 2007. 3pm
HOLDING PERIOD: Dec. 1, 2007 to Feb. 29, 2008.
To be held on one day when surf
measures at least 20 feet.
BIG WAVE RIDERS: 28 of the world’s best.
PRIZE MONEY: US$98,000 in prize money
US$55,000 for first place.